willa bank

 

            how many people do you think I am?
            pretend I am somebody else.
                –david byrne

 

where I was
there for a minute
that moment before I started counting
the whens
 
a snapping turtle shell under the pine tree at my uncle’s pay lake
 

I pick it up —
he laughs his cigarette laugh
we ate that one for lunch
he says whiskey in his hand
 
you can’t keep those things little girl they fall apart
 

and so it does
my long brown legs buckling
my hands full
of scute
 
I never did understand why mama kept us from that side of the family

 

 

2 thoughts on “willa bank

comment

