10

propagation

 

you flash those cherokee eyes   black as kentucky coal
and run barefoot up the boatdock   bluegills and malboros
in your hands   you grab a dishtowel from the clothesline
honey, wait   let me put some hens-and-chicks in a box
I canned some of those hot peppers too

tonight   you’ll sit in the dark and stare at the moon

my yard is full of dogwoods that make me think of you
weeds fight for space with hens-and-chicks   I’m trapped
in my skin   sore feet and tired old eyes   I spent all afternoon
planting daylilies   see what that is   rustling leaves over there
I guess it’s just the creek running

tonight   I’ll sit in the dark and stare at the moon

she looks up   equations in her dark eyes   plants propagate
numbers in that child’s head   she’ll grow maple trees on mars
someday   she counts the hens-and-chicks   oh there’s so many
like a star cluster   can I take some with me when I go
I want a big house by the river

tonight   she’ll sit in the dark and stare at the moon

 

 

bolts of silk — july 2009

comment

