4

little galllows man

 
you’ll think you thought these things alone

it was early morning when that dog broke free
pulled me from the ground    up by my questionable roots
he carried me in his slobbering mouth
he laid me at your door

 

you wanted me then
you washed me in red wine
you fed me milk and honey

 

you saw in me a semblance of yourself
a thing you could cajole and
manipulate    but that hanged man
was more wicked than you knew

 

you’re stuck with me

now
eyeballing you
slyer than sly

 

dress me in white    sit me on a shelf
I’ll hop down in the dead of night
I’ll crawl into your ear until
my whispers become your words

 

you fed me milk and honey
you washed me in red wine
you’re stuck with me now

 

hanging    there was another
innocent seed dropped down
soon
that dog will be howling at the door

 

 

you’ll think you thought these things alone
and you’ll think like roots    like nightshades

 

 

the red ceilings — august 2009

comment

